DMV Questions for a Kansas Instruction Permit

DMV Questions for your Kansas Instruction Permit - Photo by CJMcCay

Take the Knowledge Test for Your Kansas Permit

If you apply for your first Kansas Driver License or wish to convert a license from another country to a Kansas license, you must pass the knowledge test and vision test before you can take the skills test.

You must also take the test if Kansas has revoked you previous license or if you let your license expire for 1 year or more.

The Written Knowledge Test

Before you can get behind the wheel and practice your driving skills, you must have a permit. And to get that permit, you must pass a knowledge test.

The knowledge test is created with safe driving in mind and all questions are drawn from the information in the Kansas Driving Handbook .

If you start by reading the handbook, it will make the practice tests and the real knowledge exam much easier. Skipping the handbook and thinking that driving knowledge is just common sense can be a bad idea.

We suggest that yownload the handbook online and read it on your computer, tablet, or phone. If possible, you should also get a hard copy (text book) from you local DMV. Studies suggest that you learn a text better from a book than from a screen.

On the test, DMV will ask questions about traffic laws and you must be able to identify certain signs by their shape, color, or the symbol appearing on them. Make sure you learn everything there is to know about road sign shapes and colors .

The Practice Tests

Start the practice test here

DMV Test Facts

  Number of Questions: 25
  Number of Correct Answers: 20
  Passing score: 80%
  Time Limit: None
  Retest: Next business day (subject to availability and new fee is required)
  Attempts: 4

The Kansas knowledge test has of 25 multiple choice questions. They focus on the safe operation of a motor vehicle, including your knowledge of traffic signs, signals, pavement markings, Kansas laws, and safe driving practices.

Where are the answers? Answers to all questions are found in the Kansas Driving Handbook. Very often, question and answer wording are taken directly from the handbook.

You need 20 correct answers to pass the written exam. That is a passing score of 80%, which is the most common passing score in United States .



How difficult is the test? The difficulty on the Kansas exam is rated medium, which means that the knowledge test is not among the hardest in U.S. and that most test takers pass the test the first time. Being well prepared is, of course, an important key to passing the first time.

There is no time limit on the test, so read carefully. Re-read every question and all choices before you answer. Expect the test to take about 15 minutes.

Should you fail the test, DMV generally allows you to retest the next business day. This is, however, subject to availability. Because of the pandemic in 2020, all visits to a service location requires an appointment.

You should also know that you need to pay the testing fee every time you take the test.

After 4 failed attempts, you must wait 6 months before you can try again.

Find your nearest driver license exam station here: Kansas DOV Service Locations

Unlike some other states, Kansas DMV does not allow you to take an online knowledge test from home.

What happens next

If You Haven’t Had a License Before

After passing the vision exam and the Kansas knowledge test, the Division of Motor Vehicles (DMV) issues an instruction permit, also known as a learner’s permit.

The instruction permit allows a new driver practice their driving skills together with a licensed supervising adult. The supervising adult must be at least 21 years old and have at least one-year driving experience. They must sit beside the permit holder in the front seat and no other person may sit in the front seat.

At no time can you drive alone.

You should also know that no wireless communication devices are allowed while practicing, except to report illegal activity or call for emergency assistance. This includes hands-free devices. Turn off your phone while you drive.

Kansas Graduated Licensing System

The Kansas Graduated Licensing System is a step-by-step program that allows teen drivers to gradually gain driving experience under restrictions and supervision. The purpose is to reduce risks for teen drivers and limit the number of crashes where teens are involved.

In general, the program has three steps:

1   Instruction Permit

2   Restricted Driver License

3   Full Driver License

Kansas also allows for special farm permits for applicants from 14 years to 17 years old.



Farm Permits

Requirements

    Age: Minimum 14 years old and less than 17 years
    Present acceptable proof of identity
    Must live or work on a farm consisting of 20 or more acres
    Farm affidavit signed by employer, if applicable, and parent or legal guardian
    Must pass vision exam
    Must pass the knowledge test
    Must pass the driving skills test

Note that the permit is issued only if the teen lives on a farm consisting of 20 or more acres that is used for agricultural purposes or is employed for work on such a farm. The farm affidavit must be signed by employer (if applicable) and a parent or legal guardian.

The teen must pass the knowledge test and skills test or show a certificate of completion of an approved driver education.

Driving Restrictions

1   Driving Restrictions on the Farm Permit (under 16 Years)

    To/from or in connection with any farm job, employment or other farm-related work
    Over the most direct and accessible route between home and school for the purpose of school attendance
    Anywhere when supervised by an adult who is 21 years and has at least one year of driving experience

2   Less Restricted Farm Permit – Driving Restrictions for the First 6 Months when 16 Years

A 50-Hour driving experience affidavit is required for less driving restrictions.

    Anywhere during daytime from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.
    To/from or in connection with any farm job, employment or other farm-related work
    To/from authorized school activities or religious worship service held by a religious organization
    Anywhere when supervised by an adult who is 21 years and has at least one year of driving experience

Other Restrictions

1   Other Restrictions on the Farm Permit (under 16 Years)

    No non-immediate family member passenger who are under 18 years
    No wireless communication device while driving except to report illegal activity or to summon emergency help

2   Less Restricted Farm Permit – Other Restrictions for the First 6 Months when 16 Years

A 50-Hour driving experience affidavit is required for lifting the passenger restrictions.

    Only one non-immediate family member passenger who are under 18 years
    No wireless communication device while driving except to report illegal activity or to summon emergency help

When are Restrictions Lifted?

After holding a less restricted license for 6 months, all age-related driving restrictions are lifted.



Instruction Permits Class C or M

Requirements

    Age: Minimum 14 years
    Present acceptable proof of identity
    Parental approval if under 16 years
    Pass vision exam
    Pass written knowledge test or submit certificate of approved driver education

 

Restrictions

    May only drive with a licensed adult in the front seat
    Licensed adult must be at least 21 years old and have at least one-year driving experience
    No other person may sit in the front seat
    No wireless communication devices while driving except to report illegal activity or call for emergency assistance
    If under 17 years, must hold the permit for 1 year to advance to restricted license

If you are 17 years or older, there is no wireless restriction (except text messaging which is illegal for all drivers in Kansas) and no requirement to hold the permit for a specific time.

 

Restricted Driver License (15-16 Years Old)

Requirements

    Minimum 15 years old
    Have a written application from parent/guardian
    Held instruction permit for at least one year
    Completed at least 25 hours of supervised driving
    Successfully completed an approved Driver Education course (if under 16 years)

Driving Restrictions

1   Driving Restrictions if under 16 Years

    To/from or in connection with any farm job, employment or other farm-related work
    Over the most direct and accessible route between home and school for the purpose of school attendance
    Anywhere when supervised by an adult who is 21 years and has at least one year of driving experience

2   Driving Restrictions for the First 6 Months when 16 Years

You must have completed additional 25 hours of supervised driving (10 of the 50 hours total must be at night) to be eligible for the less restricted license at age 16.

    Anywhere during daytime from 5 a.m. to 9 p.m.
    To/from or in connection with any farm job, employment or other farm-related work
    To/from authorized school activities or religious worship service held by a religious organization
    Anywhere when supervised by an adult who is 21 years and has at least one year of driving experience

Other Restrictions

1   Other Restrictions if under 16 Years

    No non-sibling minor passengers are allowed
    No wireless communication device while driving except to report illegal activity or to summon emergency help

2   Other Restrictions for the First 6 Months when 16 Years

    Only one non-immediate family member passenger who are under 18 years
    No wireless communication device while driving except to report illegal activity or to summon emergency help

When are Restrictions Lifted?

After holding a less restricted driver license for 6 months or when turning 17 (which ever comes first), all age-related driving restrictions are lifted.

Non-Restricted Driver License – First-time Applicant (17 Years)

Requirements

    Present acceptable proof of identity
    Minimum 17 years old
    Pass vision exam
    Pass written knowledge test or submit certificate of approved driver education
    Show proof of 50 hours of driving experience if under 18 years.
    Pass the skills test or submit certificate of approved driver education

Restrictions

Obviously, there are no age-related restrictions on the full driver license. But remember that text messaging is prohibited for all drivers in the State of Kansas.

Text Messaging Is always illegal

 

The Practice Tests

Check your knowledge with our practice tests!

 



Moving from Another State to Kansas

If you move from another state in United States and have a valid driver license, DMV will only check your vision and take a new picture for your Kansas driver license. Both knowledge test and the driving skills test are waived.

This is what you need:

    Your out-of-state license
    A document that shows your Social Security Number (SSN)
    Two documents that prove your Kansas residency

If your out-of-state license is expired less than a year ago, DMV will ask you to take the written knowledge test. When your license expired more than a year ago, all tests are required, including the skills test.

Moving from Another Country other than Canada to Kansas

Depending on age, you follow the same steps as new applicants. You must pass all tests and all requirements.

Kansas does not waive any testing requirements for licensed drivers from foreign countries.