Knowledge Test for Hawaii Driver License
Before Hawaii DMV issues your first Hawaii Learner’s (Instructional) Permit or full driver license, you must pass a written knowledge test.
This test checks your knowledge of Hawaii traffic laws, safe driving, common rules of the road, and road signs and signals.
The Hawaii driver license test has 30 multiple-choice questions. You must correctly answer at least 24 of the 30 questions. That’s a passing score of 80%.
Should you fail your driver license test, you must wait 7 days before you can take it again.
The Hawaii Driver License Test in SummaryNumber of Questions: 30
Correct answers: 24
Passing score: 80%
Test time: 30 minutes
Days before you can retake: 7 days
Available languages: 9
Failure rate: Not recorded
Who Must Take the Driver License Test?
Anyone applying for a first Hawaii instruction permit or full driver’s license and who hasn’t been licensed before must pass the written knowledge test, a vision test, and a road test.
This also applies to most drivers with a valid out-of-country license.
If you are 18 years or older and have a valid out-of-state license, you may apply for a transfer of your state driver license. You should visit a driver licensing center and complete an application for a transfer. Submit your valid U.S. or Territory driver license and original documents that provide proof of identity, legal presence and social security number, date of birth and two forms of proofs of your principal residence address in Hawaii.
If your out-of-state license is expired, you must pass all original tests, including the knowledge test.
When you wish to renew a valid Hawaii driver license, tests are not required. If you showed proof of legal name, date of birth, legal presence, social security number and proof of principal residence in Hawaii before May 1, 2014, you will be asked to show them again.
Should you, however, let your Hawaii Driver License expire for more than one year, you must apply for a new license and take all tests again.
How to Study for the Hawaii Knowledge TestGet the Driver’s Manual. Always make sure you have the latest version of the Official Hawaii Driver’s Manual. You can download it online or get a copy from a driver licensing center, state library, or local bookstore. Give it Time. Don’t try to learn everything in the manual right away. Divide everything into smaller chunks and give it at least a couple of weeks. Use practice tests. Taking practice test will help you speed up the learning process and verify your progress. Work on the questions you miss. Remember that all answers are found in the Hawaii Driver’s Manual. Several tests are found on this website. Additional tests at driverspep.com.
You should note that this website is not affiliated with any State or Government Entity. Tests are made available as study guidance only.
Understand Hawaii Graduated Licensing System
Like all states, Hawaii has a graduated licensing program (known as GDL). The purpose is to allow young drivers to gain experience in a controlled manner.
The program has three phases. From a restricted Learner’s Permit to a full unrestricted Hawaii Driver License.
All applicants under 18 years are subject to the GDL program.
Phase One: Hawaii Learner’s Permit
During the first phase, DMV issues a Learner’s Permit, also called an Instructional Permit. To get this permit, you must be at least 15-and-a-half years old and pass the written test..
Important Restrictions on Your Learner’s PermitCarry the Permit with you. When you have a Learner’s Permit, you must always be carry the permit with you when you drive a motor vehicle. Don’t drive alone You cannot drive alone. At daytime, a person who is at least 21 years of age and licensed to operate the same type of motor vehicle must sit beside you. At night (between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m.), you must be supervised by a parent or guardian. Make sure everyone is buckled up. Whenever you drive, all occupants must wear their seat belts and children under 4 years of age must be properly restrained in a safety seat. Don’t use your cell phone. You cannot use a mobile electronic communication device of any kind, even if hands-free.
The permit is valid one year. Don’t let it expire before you move on to the Provisional License.
Phase Two: Provisional License
If you are 16 years old (but under 18 years), you may apply for the provisional license. The provisional license will allow you to drive alone – but comes with several restrictions.
Before DMV issues the provisional license, they will make sure that your learner’s permit is still valid and that you have held the permit for at least 180 days. You must not have any pending violations that can result in a suspension or revocation of your learner’s permit.
You must show proof of a completed a State certified driver’s education course with the classroom and behind-the-wheel certificates.
You must also pay new fees and pass the road test at a Driver Licensing Center.
Important Provisional License RestrictionsCarry the License with you. When you have a Provisional Driver’s License, you must always be carry the license with you when you drive a motor vehicle. Don’t drive with more than one passenger under 18 years. You must not drive with more than one passenger under 18 years, unless you are accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian or if your passengers are household members. Don’t drive at night. You must not driven between 11:00 p.m. and 5:00 a.m., unless accompanied by a licensed parent or guardian seated beside you. There are a few exceptions to this restriction. Make sure everyone is buckled up. Whenever you drive, all occupants must wear their seat belts and children under 4 years of age must be properly restrained in a safety seat. Don’t use your cell phone. As long as you are under 18 years, you cannot use a mobile electronic communication device of any kind, even if hands-free.
Phase Three: Unrestricted Hawaii Driver License
DMV can issue a full unrestricted driver license, if you:
- Have held the Provisional License for at least six (6) months.
- Have no pending violations that might result in a suspension or revocation.
- Is at least 17 years old.
Note:If you don’t convert your Provisional License to a full license by your 19th birthday, you must reapply as an adult applicant.
Cover photo by Mikoto from Pexels.
Surfer photo by Xzelenz Media.