Answer the question below, then click/tap “Continue”:
More Illinois DMV Test Questions
The second permit practice test has additional DMV practice test questions to help you prepare for your Illinois driver’s license or learner’s permit.
Becoming a safe driver is a complex and sometimes tedious task. It involves studying the rules of the road and learning facts and safe driving techniques, as well as safely operating a vehicle. We offer free test prep questions to help with the first. A professional driver education and training can help with the second.
How to Get Your First Permit
The practice test questions and information at freedmvtest.info are provided only to help you evaluate your current knowledge of safe driving and Illinois traffic laws.
Illinois, like all states, has a graduated licensing program for teens. This program allow teens to gradually gain driving experience and learn complex driving situations.
At age 15, you may apply for an Illinois instruction permit with the written consent of a parent or legal guardian.
DMV issues the permit after you have completed an approved driver education course, passed the written driver’s knowledge test and a vision test.
Practice Driving with Your First Permit
With your instruction permit, you are allowed to practice driving under the supervision of a licensed parent or adult age 21 or older. The person supervising your driving must be riding in the front passenger seat.
As long as you have your instruction permit, the number of passengers is limited to one in the front seat and the number of seat belts in the back seat. You cannot drive between 10 p.m.-6 a.m., Sunday-Thursday nights or between 11 p.m.-6 a.m., Friday-Saturday nights.
You must practice driving for at least 50 hours, including 10 hours at night, before moving on to the initial licensing phase.
When Can You Drive Alone?
You cannot drive alone until you are 16 years, have driven conviction-free on an instruction permit for at least nine months, and got your initial driver’s license.
With an initial license you are allowed to drive alone, but you must still follow certain restrictions like the curfew and passenger restriction.
Not until you turn 18 years, your license becomes a full, unrestricted driver’s license.
Don’t Miss Our Other Practice Test Questions
Young man with tablet – Photo Credit: Jess Foami