Practice Permit Test New York State

New York Ciity

Practice Permit Test New York

The written permit test for NY will test your knowledge of the rules of the road, safe driving techniques, road signs, and the laws about the use of alcohol and drugs. The written permit test consists of 20 questions. The passing score is 70%, meaning you must correctly answer 14 permit test questions or more to pass. Pay special attention to the road signs questions. The test has four questions about road signs and their meanings. You must get at least two of these permit test questions right.

Our permit practice tests will have 25 permit questions with a passing score of 80%. You should aim for a score of at least 90% before you attempt the real written knowledge test.

New York Ciity

Practice Permit Test New York with the Driver’s Manual

The material you must read and understand is found in the New York State Driver’s Manual. The printed version contains three parts. The permit practice test is based on part two and three (chapters 4 through 12). The on-line version only has part two and three.

You can get the printed version of the driver’s manual at any DMV office. The on-line version is found at dmv.ny.gov

Permit Test Questions

The New York Department of Motor Vehicles website has an on-line quiz for each chapter in the manual. They recommend that you take a quiz after each chapter to check your knowledge.

This is a good strategy for your study of the manual, but you also need to sum up all your knowledge with a complete permit practice test that simulates the real written test. Make sure you really understand the answers by comparing with the text in the manual.

Start practice permit ny



Driver’s License Quick Facts

You must have a valid driver’s license to drive legally in New York State and you must be at least 16 years. Teenagers under 16 cannot drive in New York State, even if they have a valid driver’s license or permit from another state or country.

As long as you are just visiting New York you may drive legally with an out-of-state license. If you move to New York, you must turn in your out-of-state driver license and get a New York State license within 30 days of the day you permanently moved here.

Be the first to comment on "Practice Permit Test New York State"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.


*