Minnesota Graduated Driver Licensing Laws

Graduated Driver Licensing Laws - Copyright: Hongqi Zhang

Minnesota graduated driver licensing laws help teenagers to gain experience and minimize risks of crashes, injury or death.

As of January 1, 2015, a permit holder must log more hours of supervised driving. The new law also encourages parents to complete a supplemental parent class. If a parent or guardian has completed the supplemental parent class, the supervised driving log must show at least 40 hours of supervised driving. Otherwise, the log must show at least 50 hours.

Like before, the provisional phase comes with nighttime and passengers restrictions. Violating these laws is a misdemeanor.