#1. This sign tells you:
Reduction of lanes. Right lane ends. Merge left. Two lanes of traffic will soon become one lane of traffic. Right-lane traffic must yield when merging.
#2. When are you required to stop at a railroad crossing?
You must always stop if there is any condition that makes it unsafe to proceed through the crossing.
Stop when a clearly visible electric or mechanical signal device gives warning of the immediate approach of a train. You must also stop when crossing gate is lowered, or when a human flagman signals you to stop.
Whenever an approaching train is plainly visible or emits a signal, and is in hazardous proximity to the crossing you are also required to stop.
#3. Unless otherwise posted, what is the speed limit in a school zone during opening or closing hours?
Speed limit is 20 mph when passing a school building or grounds during school recess or while children are going to or leaving school during opening or closing hours or when flashing lights are operating.
#4. What does this sign mean?
Incline or Hill. The sign warns you of hills where special care must be taken. Slow down before you start downhill.
#5. What does this sign mean?
This sign is used at locations along a roadway where a flagger may be stationed to control traffic.
#6. On two-lane roads with traffic moving in both directions, it is illegal to pass on the left side:
Utah law prohibits passing when approaching within 100 feet of any intersection or railroad grade crossing. It is also illegal to pass within 100 feet of any bridge, viaduct, or tunnel where you view is obstructed.
Never pass when approaching or on a hill or a curve where your view is obstructed.
#7. When children are nearby, what should you do before backing out of a driveway or parking lot?
Check behind your vehicle before you get in. Children or small objects cannot be seen from the driver’s seat. Learn more about safe backing techniques: DMV Questions about How to Back Your Car
#8. When passing a bicyclist, Utah law requires a minimum distance of three feet.
Special care must be used near bicyclists because any collision with them may result in serious injury. This means that automobile drivers must leave safe passing room and must not turn so close to a bicyclist that the bicyclist is in danger of being hit. Utah law requires a minimum three feet of distance from any bicyclist or vulnerable user of the highway.
#9. You should always look carefully for motorcycles before you change lanes because:
Due to its relatively small size, a motorcycle is sometimes difficult to see. Motorists’ failure to detect and recognize motorcycles in traffic is the predominant cause of motorcycle crashes
It is vital for motorists to condition themselves to look for motorcyclist in traffic. The appearance of a motorcycle in traffic situations when the motorist is not prepared can lead to a hazardous situation.
#10. Bicyclists must ride:
Bicycle riders on public streets and highways have the same rights and responsibilities as automobile drivers.
Bicyclists must ride with the flow of traffic and as near to the right side of the road or street as is safe and practical.
#11. This over lane indicator (a steady yellow X) means:
Green arrows indicate the lane is open, while red X’s indicate that lane is for opposing traffic and motorist should not be traveling in it. Yellow X’s tell motorists that the lane is in transition and they need to merge right. Flex Lanes are a method to vary the number of eastbound and westbound lanes during peak travel times.
#12. When parking close to a fire hydrant you must keep which distance?
Parking is not allowed within 15 feet of a fire hydrant.
#13. Which is the main cause of car skids?
In the vast majority of cases, skids were caused by drivers traveling too fast for conditions. The best policy is to keep a skid from happening. Slow down to a speed at which you can control the car.
#14. For how long will information about alcohol and drug-related violations remain on your driving record?
All alcohol and drug-related violations, suspensions, and revocations remain on the record for 10 years.
#15. If you become stranded while traveling in cold weather, it is best to leave your vehicle and seek help.
If you become stranded while traveling in cold weather, stay with your vehicle. Do not leave your vehicle unless you know exactly where you are and how far it is to help. Most deaths under these circumstances occur when people get out of their vehicles, become lost and suffer pro-longed exposure to the cold. Stay calm, wait for help to arrive. Turn on your hazard warning lights, light flares, or hang a brightly colored cloth from your driver side window, mirror or door handle to attract attention.
#16. When entering or crossing a city street from a driveway, you must:
You must stop prior to a sidewalk area, or street, when coming onto a street or highway from an alley, private driveway, private road, or from a building.
#17. A white cloth tied to a radio antenna or a door handle indicates:
If you have an emergency, pull to the side of the road, turn on your emergency flashers, raise your hood, and tie something white or orange on the antenna or left door handle. This will signal an emergency.
#18. Four out of five crashes occur at speeds:
Four out of five crashes occur at speeds under 40 mph, with deaths occurring at speeds as low as 12 mph.
Remember, a safety belt should be worn at any speed, regardless of how slow you are moving.
#19. On a two-direction roadway, passing is permitted, when:
Passing is permitted when a dashed yellow center line is on your side.
#20. When taking a prescription drug, who is responsible for deciding if you can drive or not?
It is your responsibility to know when you are not in shape to drive to drive safely.
Most of the drugs for headaches, colds, hay fever, allergies, or nerves can make you sleepy and affect your control of the vehicle. Be sure you know how any drugs or medication you take may affect your driving and ability to operate a vehicle safely on our highways.
#21. With an anti-lock braking system (ABS) you should pump the brake if your vehicle begins to skid:
If your vehicle is equipped with ABS brakes, it is not necessary to pump them when braking in slippery situation, apply constant and firm pressure and your vehicle will make a smooth, safe stop.
#22. Penalties for driving while your license is denied, suspended, or revoked include jail sentence for how long?
If you drive while your license is denied, suspended, or revoked you may be sentenced to jail for 90 days and be required to pay a fine.
#23. Which is the best rule to remember when it comes to turning on your headlights?
The best rule is to remember to turn on your headlights whenever you have trouble seeing other vehicles. If you have trouble seeing them, chances are, the other vehicles are having trouble seeing you.
By law, you must turn on your headlights no later than half an hour after sunset and keep them on until half an hour before sunrise. You must also use your lights any time conditions keep you from seeing 1,000 feet ahead. These conditions include fog, stormy weather or dust.
#24. When facing a traffic signal showing a steady green arrow, you:
When facing a green arrow light, you may proceed only in the direction of the arrow. You must yield to vehicles and pedestrians still in the intersection at the time of the light change.
When the green arrow is shown in a left-turn signal, it means that opposing traffic is stopped. This is known as a protected turn.
Remember, the green arrow does not mean that all other traffic is stopped by a red light.
#25. At a flashing red light:
A flashing red signal light means stop. You must come to a complete stop. Look both ways, yield to traffic and pedestrians and proceed when it is safe to do so. Observe the right-of-way rules.
The Real Utah Written Knowledge Test
For new drivers, the real written DMV test in Utah has 50 multiple-choice and True or False questions. You must correctly answer at least 40 of the 50 questions to pass the test.
This free Utah practice test has 25 questions, a mix of multiple-choice and True-or-False. To match the massing score of 80%, you should have 20 correct answers.
Since this is a practice test to help you study for the real written knowledge test, you should aim higher than just 20 correct answers. It is always a good idea to make sure you know and understand all the answers.
When you are in doubt, always check the State Driver Handbook. You can get a copy from a Utah Driver License location or download it online.
If You Have a License from Another State
If you are licensed in another State and move to Utah, you must pass a 25-question test. The good news is that it’s an open-book test, which means you may bring the Driver Handbook to the test and look up answers when necessary.
The Utah Written Knowledge Test in SummaryNumber of Questions: 50 (25)
Correct answers: 40 (20)
Passing score: 80%
Test time: not timed
Days before you can retake: 0 days (you can take the test twice per day*)
Available languages: 1 (English)
Failure rate: No data
*/ If you fail the written knowledge test three times, you need to pay a new fee.
You should be aware that this website is not affiliated with any State or Government Entity. Practice tests are made available as guidance and study help only. Always rely on official sources when you have questions.
Cover photo (Monument Valley) by: freedmvtest.info